To Top
Your Add Here

EXO is back on the scene with ‘Don’t Mess Up My Tempo’ Album!

EXO is finally back on the scene with its Don’t Mess Up My Tempo album.

On November 2 at 6 p.m. KST, EXO released their fifth studio album “Don’t Mess Up My Tempo,” along with the music video for its title track “Tempo.”

For the new album, the group has seemingly reunited as a gritty biker gang – as the bandmates were shown in a teaser clip – though they shyly confessed that none of them actually knew how to ride a motorcycle.

The lead track “Tempo”, a rhythmical hip-hop-leaning dance track that showcases acappella harmonies – as they send warnings not to “mess up his tempo” with their lover.

The act’s fifth EP, Don’t Mess Up My Tempo marks EXO’s first release since its winter-themed EP Universe and its first full-length effort since fourth studio album The War, released in July last year.

The new album also features the group as a nine-piece act, with Chinese member Lay joining the group’s album for the first time since 2016’s For Life.

Lay participated in shooting the music video of “Tempo” and featured in recording its Chinese version.

“We are glad to greet you as EXO after over a year. We are really grateful for it and looking forward to our promotions,” said Suho at a press conference for the group’s new album in Seoul on Thursday.

EXO went on to thank fans for making the group a “quintuple million-seller”, as its new album recorded over 1.1 million preorders as of Tuesday.

This new record is following their four previous full-length albums – XOXO (KISS & HUG)ExodusEX’ACT and The War – all sold over 1 million copies.

It wouldn’t have been possible without EXO-L,” Baekhyun said, referring to the group’s fan base.

“We thank them for supporting us whether we are promoting individually or as a group. They are like a root of a tree.”

Even after seven years atop the K-pop scene, EXO said it still feels nervous when returning with new albums.

If there’s any secret to the group’s unwavering success, it might be the commitment to the stage.

“Rather than setting records, we try to enjoy stages. We have been pursuing such a mindset since our debut, and maybe that has led to our records. And we will keep doing so,” Baekhyun added.

The album also includes tracks “Sign”, “Ooh La La La”, “Gravity”, “With You”, “24/7”, “Bad Dream”, “Damage”, “Smile on My Face”, “Oasis” and a Chinese version of “Tempo”.

The songs are themed on each of the bandmates’ “supernatural abilities,” they said.

Listen to the whole album bellow:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in K-MUSIC